Disclosure: we earn a referral fee from some of the tools on this page if you sign up through our links. It doesn’t change the price you pay, and every figure links to its source so you can check our picks.

How we make money

Dental payroll

The best payroll software for dental practices, compared honestly.

Hygienists, assistants and front office on payroll, benefits to offer, maybe a second office. We read five providers’ own pricing pages so you can compare the real cost.

Updated September 2026Prices checked on each vendor’s own site

Our top pick

Gusto

Most small teams that want published prices

Simple $49/mo + $6/mo per person. Plus $80/mo + $12 per person. Premium $180/mo + $22 per person. Contractor Only $35/mo + $6 per person ($0 base for the first 6 months, limited-time offer).

See Gusto plans

Side by side

What each one really costs

Starting prices, staff fees, card rates and the fine print, from each vendor’s own pricing page.

Gusto

Top pick
Price
$49/mo + $6 per person (Simple)
Tax filing
Federal, state and local on every plan
Multi-state
Plus and Premium
Contractors only
$35/mo + $6 per person ($0 base for 6 months, limited time)
Contract
Month-to-month; cancel anytime

Rippling

Price
Quote; per employee per month + platform
Tax filing
Included in payroll quote
Multi-state
By quote
Contractors only
Quote
Contract
Not stated

Square Payroll

Price
$35/mo + $6 per person paid
Tax filing
Federal and state on full-service
Multi-state
Included on full-service
Contractors only
$6/mo per person paid
Contract
No long-term contract

OnPay

Price
$49/mo + $6 per worker
Tax filing
Federal, state and local included
Multi-state
Included
Contractors only
Same plan
Contract
Not stated

RUN Powered by ADP

Price
Quote
Tax filing
Included
Multi-state
By package
Contractors only
Quote
Contract
Not stated

The picks

Pros, cons and our verdict

In the order we’d recommend them. Every figure links to its source.

01Most small teams that want published pricesTop pick

Gusto

Simple $49/mo + $6/mo per person. Plus $80/mo + $12 per person. Premium $180/mo + $22 per person. Contractor Only $35/mo + $6 per person ($0 base for the first 6 months, limited-time offer).

See Gusto plans

What it does well

  • Unlimited payroll runs and federal, state and local tax filings on every plan
  • Month-to-month: no contracts, free account setup, cancel anytime
  • Contractors are billed only in months you pay them
  • Health insurance administration at no extra cost when Gusto is your broker

Watch out for

  • Multi-state payroll starts at Plus ($80 + $12 per person); next-day pay is $15/mo + $3 per person on Simple
  • Faster pay costs extra below Premium: same-day $90 and instant $100 per payroll
  • Priority support is a $30/mo + $3 per person add-on on Simple and Plus

Verdict. The easiest pick for a small team: clear prices, no contract, and tax filing handled. Simple covers a one-state business; move to Plus if you pay people in more than one state.

02Growing teams that want payroll, HR, IT and spend in one system

Rippling

Custom quote. Products are mostly billed per employee per month, on top of the required Rippling Platform.

Get a Rippling quote

What it does well

  • Buy payroll, benefits, expenses and device management as separate products on one platform
  • Rippling says its team imports your year-to-date payroll so you can switch mid-year
  • Most products are billed per employee per month, so the price follows your headcount

Watch out for

  • No published prices
  • The core Rippling Platform is required on top of each product
  • Probably more system than a five-person business needs

Verdict. Worth a quote once you have enough staff that HR, devices and expenses are real work. For payroll alone, Gusto or Square are simpler.

03Businesses already using Square

Square Payroll

Full-service $35/mo + $6 per person paid. Contractor-only $6/mo per person paid.

Visit Square Payroll

What it does well

  • The lowest published base fee here: $35/mo
  • Imports timecards from Square POS and tracks tips
  • Multistate payroll, automated federal and state filings and next-day direct deposit on the full-service plan
  • No commitment and no long-term contract; free seasonal inactivity

Watch out for

  • Mailing paper W-2s or 1099s costs $3 per form
  • Support is weekdays 6am–6pm PT
  • The contractor-only plan doesn’t file taxes

Verdict. The obvious choice if your POS or appointments already run on Square — hours and tips flow straight into payroll.

04One simple price with multi-state included

OnPay

$49/mo base + $6/mo per worker.

Visit OnPay

What it does well

  • One plan: W-2s, 1099s, year-end filings and federal, state and local tax filings included
  • Pay workers in as many states as you need at no extra cost
  • Unlimited pay runs and no implementation fees
  • Phone, chat and email support

Watch out for

  • HR tools and time tracking are separate add-ons with their own base and per-worker fees
  • No contractor-only price on its pricing page

Verdict. The simplest multi-state option: the same $49 + $6 whether you pay people in one state or five.

05Owners who want a large, established provider

RUN Powered by ADP

Quote. Essential, Enhanced, Complete Payroll & HR+ and HR Pro packages. ADP advertised “3 months free” on 30 Sep 2026 (terms apply).

Visit RUN Powered by ADP

What it does well

  • Four packages, from payroll-only up to payroll plus HR support
  • Advertised promotion of 3 months free (terms apply)

Watch out for

  • No published prices
  • You need a sales call to compare it with the others

Verdict. Get a quote if you prefer a long-established provider, and compare the price after the promotion ends.

How we chose

  1. 01We read every price on the vendor’s own pricing page on 30 September 2026.
  2. 02We compared what a small team actually pays: base fee, per-person fee, tax filing, multi-state and contractor pricing.
  3. 03We left out QuickBooks Payroll because its pricing now bundles accounting, which makes a fair side-by-side hard.
  4. 04Gusto and Rippling may pay us a referral fee if you sign up through our links. That never changes the facts above, and every number links to its source.
  5. 05This isn’t tax or legal advice. Prices change often — check the vendor’s page before you sign anything.

Questions owners ask

Can I offer benefits through payroll?

Gusto says health insurance administration costs nothing extra when it is your broker, and 401(k) integrations are available. Rippling sells benefits as a separate product on its platform.

Does OnPay work for dental offices?

OnPay lists dentists among the industries it serves. Its price is $49/mo + $6 per worker, with tax filings and any number of states included.

What does payroll cost for a team of five?

Using published prices: Square Payroll $35 + 5 × $6 = $65/mo; Gusto Simple $49 + 5 × $6 = $79/mo; OnPay $49 + 5 × $6 = $79/mo. Rippling and ADP price by quote.

Can I switch payroll providers mid-year?

Yes. Rippling says its team imports your year-to-date payroll, and Gusto says it can often handle the data transfer for larger teams. Have your EIN, pay rates and any taxes already filed this year ready.

Your next step

Payroll sorted. Now stop missing customers.

Whatever payroll you choose, the AI Front Desk answers new-patient questions on your website 24/7 and sends patients to your booking link.