Disclosure: we earn a referral fee from some of the tools on this page if you sign up through our links. It doesn’t change the price you pay, and every figure links to its source so you can check our picks.
How we make moneyRestaurant payroll
The best payroll software for restaurants, compared honestly.
Hourly staff, tips, overtime and seasonal swings. We read five providers’ own pricing pages so you can see what payroll really costs for your crew.
Updated September 2026Prices checked on each vendor’s own site
The short answer
Our top pick
Gusto
Most small teams that want published prices
Simple $49/mo + $6/mo per person. Plus $80/mo + $12 per person. Premium $180/mo + $22 per person. Contractor Only $35/mo + $6 per person ($0 base for the first 6 months, limited-time offer).
See Gusto plansSide by side
What each one really costs
Starting prices, staff fees, card rates and the fine print, from each vendor’s own pricing page.
Gusto
Top pick- Price
- $49/mo + $6 per person (Simple)
- Tax filing
- Federal, state and local on every plan
- Multi-state
- Plus and Premium
- Contractors only
- $35/mo + $6 per person ($0 base for 6 months, limited time)
- Contract
- Month-to-month; cancel anytime
Rippling
- Price
- Quote; per employee per month + platform
- Tax filing
- Included in payroll quote
- Multi-state
- By quote
- Contractors only
- Quote
- Contract
- Not stated
Square Payroll
- Price
- $35/mo + $6 per person paid
- Tax filing
- Federal and state on full-service
- Multi-state
- Included on full-service
- Contractors only
- $6/mo per person paid
- Contract
- No long-term contract
OnPay
- Price
- $49/mo + $6 per worker
- Tax filing
- Federal, state and local included
- Multi-state
- Included
- Contractors only
- Same plan
- Contract
- Not stated
RUN Powered by ADP
- Price
- Quote
- Tax filing
- Included
- Multi-state
- By package
- Contractors only
- Quote
- Contract
- Not stated
The picks
Pros, cons and our verdict
In the order we’d recommend them. Every figure links to its source.
01Most small teams that want published pricesTop pick
Gusto
Simple $49/mo + $6/mo per person. Plus $80/mo + $12 per person. Premium $180/mo + $22 per person. Contractor Only $35/mo + $6 per person ($0 base for the first 6 months, limited-time offer).
What it does well
- Unlimited payroll runs and federal, state and local tax filings on every plan
- Month-to-month: no contracts, free account setup, cancel anytime
- Contractors are billed only in months you pay them
- Health insurance administration at no extra cost when Gusto is your broker
Watch out for
- Multi-state payroll starts at Plus ($80 + $12 per person); next-day pay is $15/mo + $3 per person on Simple
- Faster pay costs extra below Premium: same-day $90 and instant $100 per payroll
- Priority support is a $30/mo + $3 per person add-on on Simple and Plus
Verdict. The easiest pick for a small team: clear prices, no contract, and tax filing handled. Simple covers a one-state business; move to Plus if you pay people in more than one state.
02Growing teams that want payroll, HR, IT and spend in one system
Rippling
Custom quote. Products are mostly billed per employee per month, on top of the required Rippling Platform.
What it does well
- Buy payroll, benefits, expenses and device management as separate products on one platform
- Rippling says its team imports your year-to-date payroll so you can switch mid-year
- Most products are billed per employee per month, so the price follows your headcount
Watch out for
- No published prices
- The core Rippling Platform is required on top of each product
- Probably more system than a five-person business needs
Verdict. Worth a quote once you have enough staff that HR, devices and expenses are real work. For payroll alone, Gusto or Square are simpler.
03Businesses already using Square
Square Payroll
Full-service $35/mo + $6 per person paid. Contractor-only $6/mo per person paid.
What it does well
- The lowest published base fee here: $35/mo
- Imports timecards from Square POS and tracks tips
- Multistate payroll, automated federal and state filings and next-day direct deposit on the full-service plan
- No commitment and no long-term contract; free seasonal inactivity
Watch out for
- Mailing paper W-2s or 1099s costs $3 per form
- Support is weekdays 6am–6pm PT
- The contractor-only plan doesn’t file taxes
Verdict. The obvious choice if your POS or appointments already run on Square — hours and tips flow straight into payroll.
04One simple price with multi-state included
OnPay
$49/mo base + $6/mo per worker.
What it does well
- One plan: W-2s, 1099s, year-end filings and federal, state and local tax filings included
- Pay workers in as many states as you need at no extra cost
- Unlimited pay runs and no implementation fees
- Phone, chat and email support
Watch out for
- HR tools and time tracking are separate add-ons with their own base and per-worker fees
- No contractor-only price on its pricing page
Verdict. The simplest multi-state option: the same $49 + $6 whether you pay people in one state or five.
05Owners who want a large, established provider
RUN Powered by ADP
Quote. Essential, Enhanced, Complete Payroll & HR+ and HR Pro packages. ADP advertised “3 months free” on 30 Sep 2026 (terms apply).
What it does well
- Four packages, from payroll-only up to payroll plus HR support
- Advertised promotion of 3 months free (terms apply)
Watch out for
- No published prices
- You need a sales call to compare it with the others
Verdict. Get a quote if you prefer a long-established provider, and compare the price after the promotion ends.
How we chose
- 01We read every price on the vendor’s own pricing page on 30 September 2026.
- 02We compared what a small team actually pays: base fee, per-person fee, tax filing, multi-state and contractor pricing.
- 03We left out QuickBooks Payroll because its pricing now bundles accounting, which makes a fair side-by-side hard.
- 04Gusto and Rippling may pay us a referral fee if you sign up through our links. That never changes the facts above, and every number links to its source.
- 05This isn’t tax or legal advice. Prices change often — check the vendor’s page before you sign anything.
Questions owners ask
Which payroll handles tips best?
Square Payroll imports timecards from Square POS and tracks direct tips, with overtime calculations and labor-cost reporting on the full-service plan. If you run Toast, Toast sells its own payroll: its pricing page lists a POS + payroll bundle for new restaurants from $69/month + $9 per employee.
What if we close for part of the year?
Square Payroll includes free seasonal inactivity on its full-service plan. Gusto charges only for active employees.
What does payroll cost for a team of five?
Using published prices: Square Payroll $35 + 5 × $6 = $65/mo; Gusto Simple $49 + 5 × $6 = $79/mo; OnPay $49 + 5 × $6 = $79/mo. Rippling and ADP price by quote.
Can I switch payroll providers mid-year?
Yes. Rippling says its team imports your year-to-date payroll, and Gusto says it can often handle the data transfer for larger teams. Have your EIN, pay rates and any taxes already filed this year ready.
Your next step
Payroll sorted. Now stop missing customers.
Whatever payroll you choose, the AI Front Desk answers website chats 24/7 — hours, menu, reservations — so your staff can stay on the floor.